learning a new faith

I am trying to overcome an old nemesis which has plagued me for years, especially on some issues, but by and large has surely impacted my faith across the board. A certain issue has come to a head for me, so that I really want to go a new direction, with no turning back. But that is so hard, old habits are hard to break. On the one hand, “you can’t teach a dog new tricks.” On the other hand, when one gets older, light begins to break through on old issues, or probably more accurate, at least at the onset, one just grows sick and tired of the “same old same old” that is not helpful, or just doesn’t seem to be good. Our church is helpful in both encouraging this faith, and helping it grow.

Learning this new way means going back to scripture, to passages such as James 1, and emphasizing a naked trust in God alone through Jesus. Yes, we may have our part, and we do, but all depends on God. It’s not a matter of God helping us fulfill our agenda. It’s a matter of wanting to do God’s will, finding it, and then seeking to live in it. And for me, it’s a matter of learning to let go in the sense of knowing that it does not depend on me coming up with the answer, or depending on others to do so. But on God. It’s not that answers may not be forthcoming. But in the end, the only answer that lasts is a faith, hope and love which is rooted in God through Christ.

And so I want to learn a new dependence on God. And I want to do so along with others in Jesus, together for the world.