seeing improvement

I think the Lord in his grace lets us see, at times, inklings of our growth in grace in him. Ways that we may be becoming like him. I also think that when we don’t do so well and that is evident, that is also part of God’s grace in making us aware just where we are obviously falling short. Of course we need God to search us and reveal to us anything that is not pleasing to him, anything offensive, any sin. But sometimes we know well enough ourselves, and yet even during such times we need to ask God to reveal to us the depths of our sin.

But back to the main point of this post: It is such a blessing when we see God helping us to do better, to give up our pride and humble ourselves before each other. And to see that sustained over time, a new way of life. Improvement should be seen not just in an incident after which we retreat back to our old patterns, our old ways. But it should be seen as something by grace which is sustained over time.

I am seeing that at work. I had to give up my pride over something, maybe just a bit of pride, ha. But pride is pride. I did something a certain way different than I ordinarily do it, in line with how at least a couple others think it should be done, and in the kind of work we were doing (albeit a bit unusual) it did work better. I want that attitude which is quick to listen, with a submissive spirit. I work with other Christians in a ministry in a factory setting. I hope those of us who are older can be a good example to those who are younger, even as we appreciate and learn from them.

Nothing is more important than living in the grace of God in and through Jesus. I’m so grateful that in all the difficulties and even depths of darkness or pain into which we may descend there is grace, God’s grace in Jesus. That even in such places and experience, maybe I should say especially in such places and experience, God is doing a work to make us more and more like Jesus. Together in this in Jesus for the world.

3 comments on “seeing improvement

  1. nancy says:

    i like how you described how interactions can be an example to ourselves and to others that God is indeed with us in His abundant grace.

    • I think most spiritual growth takes place in relationship with other people. Of course in relationship with God through Christ. But a lot of what scripture says about this is with reference to our relationship with others, especially our family in Christ.

Leave a comment