lent and moving forward

During this Lenten season in large part I’ve been thinking about the disciples who even then designated apostles, were following Jesus on his journey to Jerusalem which he told them himself would end in his suffering and death three days after which he would rise from the dead. As we read the narrative we can see mixed motives. Surely by the Spirit there was much good in their following as well (with the exception of Judas Iscariot, who seems to have been in it at least largely for worldly reasons from the start).

When it was all said and done, each had their special role and place. Somehow in the mix, each person was important. Some stood out much more than others. James was the first of them to be martyred, the rest except for John, who lived to be an old man, following.

I have often wished I were this or that rather than what I am as far as the work that I do. I was listening to a marvelous presentation on C. S. Lewis by Alister McGrath. I was noting all the hoops McGrath has jumped through, all the hats he’s worn. And I said to myself, why couldn’t I have worn just one of those in my lifetime, the one or two I might have been capable of wearing in certainly a humble way.

But then I came to the conclusion that I have to make the most of where the Lord has brought me and in all of its humility and simplicity try to live it out to the full to the end. I have often thought about the gravestone that would mark the resting place of Deb and I. And although I would wish for a verse that would point more to the gospel and Jesus Christ, I think this verse would be a good one to have transcribed on our stone, something I think that would suit Deb well for her own life as well:

Your word is a lamp for my feet,
    a light on my path.

We all need to keep moving forward in the faith we have seeking to finish well in the journey we’re on and the work we’re called to do. Knowing that we each have our special calling and place in the testimony to Jesus for the world.

Leave a Reply

