one thing the brevity of life suggests: the blink of life is about God

“Show me, Lord, my life’s end
and the number of my days;
let me know how fleeting my life is.
You have made my days a mere handbreadth;
the span of my years is as nothing before you.
Everyone is but a breath,
even those who seem secure.”

Psalm 39

It rather occured to me yesterday, while working my way in meditation through this psalm, that the brevity of life is suggestive that life is really about God, period. Of course it’s about so much more. But God is to be our god, the one who is first, who we’re devoted to,. God is like the air we breathe spiritually, we’re even dependent on him for physical breath. He is the love and life in which we all consist and live, through whom we live and love others. So it’s silly for us to want to cut God off or think we have no need of him.

Life is lived in the light and life God provides in the natural and spiritual spheres. And we are meant to live in close fellowship and communion not only with other human beings, but first and foremost with God himself (or God’s self, since God strictly speaking is not masculine, but whose image includes all the good created in humanity, including masculinity and femininity. Nevertheless as N. T. Wright, I believe, wrote, I retain how God was spoken of by those who recevied scripture so that I use the masculine pronoun). And our heart’s devotion and worship is to be of God. In doing so we love others in the love of God. In a certain sense very true in creation even apart from such devotion, but all the more true in the communion of the new creation in a love that overflows in and through Jesus by the Spirit.

And so, while I was meditating on that psalm which has nothing directly to say on this, the thought that came to me is certainly in keeping with all of scripture and how the church has traditionally understood scripture: Life is all about God. Life is here and gone, just like that. Which makes it all the more urgent that we keep God front and center in and through Jesus. Hands down our own highest good and the highest good of the world.

2 comments on “one thing the brevity of life suggests: the blink of life is about God

  1. theoldone300 says:

    Very nicely said! It reminds me of “‘In him we live and move and have our being’; Knowing God is such a beautiful treasure.

Leave a Reply

