why are we here?

So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God. Do not cause anyone to stumble, whether Jews, Greeks or the church of God— even as I try to please everyone in every way. For I am not seeking my own good but the good of many, so that they may be saved.

1 Corinthians 10

My brother-in-law, Bill Davis (who wrote Black Triangle, which I recently did a post on) underwent a successful triple bypass. The night before the operation I called him and he reminded me that the most important thing was that God would be glorified. I agreed, though I don’t think I either say or think that enough. It is certainly a given, and a most important one.

God is the one rightly to be glorified and he won’t give that glory to another. There is no other god, but other so-called gods are frauds. This is simply the way it is.

At the same time God graciously brings humans not only near him, but to partake of his very life, even participating in his nature. And he glorifies humans who partake of the eternal life which he makes available in and through Christ. Of course he alone is glorified in that, even as we look forward to an existence that is marked by that glorification.

And so I’m here today and about my tasks to bring glory to God. In acts of love, prayer, and in all the ways in God’s will. We in Jesus exist to bring God the glory and praise which rightfully belong to him. Or we might better say to simply do all to the glory of God, that others might see and glorify our Father in heaven through Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

