strength for our days

and your strength will equal your days.

Deuteronomy 33:25b

Lately I’ve struggled in some ways to keep going. Getting up is one challenge. Once the day gets rolling at work, it’s good, because we have a good team, and I enjoy working with a guy who between he and I makes even the most difficult jobs manageable (and I’m referring to working around mechanical issues, etc., not really the jobs themselves).

There are plenty of challenges that face us at many turns. In my case there’s mostly just a lot of small nagging problems, and a deadline in my mind over something I’m not getting done in timely enough fashion. And there are plenty of things that can be discouraging. Add to that the waste of time (and I really don’t have much time to waste) over the incessant political stuff going on nowadays. And thinking about one’s life and what might have been, while simply seeking to live well with whatever is left of time and opportunity. Above all seeking to live well before God.

We have this promise in scripture, from Moses’s blessing to a tribe of Israel shortly before his death. What amounts to a promise from God, and what we can take forward in and through Christ as a promise to ourselves as well, as God’s people (2 Corinthians 1:20). Yes, God gives us strength for today. Of course we need wisdom along with that (see James 1).

And so I can go on, if not with a spring in my step, at least with one foot ahead of another, one step at a time, knowing that God will give me what I need for today along with others to carry on well in his will in and through Jesus.

Leave a Reply

