in spite of the weaknesses, pressing on

Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already arrived at my goal, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me.

Philippians 3

If Paul had a sense of having not arrived in this life in his pursuit of Christ and God’s will for him in Christ, than how much more will that be true of us? I might seem to get over something well, and be making good progress in something else, only to find myself spinning my wheels and failing over yet another thing, soon after that.

Of course if we will only hang in there and persevere, we will find that even our seeming (along with actual) setbacks can serve to help us toward full maturity in Christ (James 1).

In the midst of it all, we should have one goal, one passion, one thing we do. And in the context of the entire letter of Philippians, that one thing is not about us, but about Christ, and looking after his interests, and not our own. And Christ’s interest is other people, the gospel being central in all of this.

And so I carry on, humbled further when it seems like something new is exposed in me, as if God withdrew his hand of grace a bit in my life in a certain way so as to expose and then work on something else in my life, which actually would be all a part of God’s grace. And though God who began the good work in us, is also the one who will carry it on to completion for the day of Christ Jesus (Philippians 1:6), we too, to some extent are to be involved in that work, in fear and trembling working out the salvation which God is working in us, in and through Jesus.

Leave a Reply

