when life is a blur

My granddaughter and I recently were at a festival where we went on a few rides suitable for her age. I know the next time, Deb for sure will need to be along, because apart from roller coaster rides, I’ve not been able to enjoy rides which move fast, especially in circles (I did fine on the merry-go-round–or carousel–and Ferris wheel).

Something that characterizes a number of those rides is the blur due to the speed with which they move. A camera depending on its setting can pick up a blur.

I notice that at times I find myself passing through life with the attitude: been there, done that. When life is a blur.

That is when I need to consciously slow down and begin to take in all that life is, all the good that God gives us in it. Of course that means I have to take the time to do so. Instead of simply passing the time, I am then living in it, living in each moment, rather than hoping for a different time or place.

In following Jesus this is important. We need to be open to what all of life is giving us, including what is clearly good. Knowing that God is indeed working in all things for good for us in Jesus. This involves the blessing we receive that we might be a blessing to others. Being open to all the receiving and giving of life, in Jesus.

I want to learn better to see the details God wants me to see. To not be in a hurry, in a blur, so that I fail to really focus in on what God wants me to see. Along with others in Jesus. That others too might see and be blessed.

3 comments on “when life is a blur

  1. […] pounds.]“If I had a daughter, a little girl, probably five-years-old by now…” When life is a blur with Ted.Christine Scheller on parenting: “Parenting is hard, and not just because we […]

  2. Ted,

    Thanks for this reminder to slow down and focus on what’s important.

Leave a comment